Proud Ancestry, Proud Posterity

WILLIAM BRADFORD

As I sit perusing my own pedigree chart and family group records, I stumble across the name, William BRADFORD.  He is my 12th great-grandfather and former governor of the Massachusetts Colony who came to America on the Mayflower.  Like many of his descendants, I am both proud and humbled to be counted among his progeny.  His sacrifice and leadership were part of the foundation of freedom that many enjoy in the United States.

Looking back again at the pedigree, I begin to see much clearer what has made these pilgrims so revered.  It was not only the sacrifices they made to leave hearth and home in their mother country, but would it not also be at least in part because of the posterity who would descend from them?

I then glance at the family photograph of my wife and our children.  As I look at each one of them, I begin to see where the real claim to fame lies—within our children!  My wife and I have always tried our best to teach and provide support with love.  Thankfully, they have achieved much success in their lives and we are so proud of every one of them!

Could it be said that some of the greatness of our ancestors is realized from what the descendants may do?

What concerning your own ancestors and descendants are you thankful for?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.